Beauty ” With or Without” 1 (African Hair Care Tips)

Image

Hello Lovelies,

I decided to make this post my the first in the beauty with or without series since the hair of a woman is her crown. Due to the  African climate and the unique texture of the African hair, the average black woman has hair problems and as resulted to wearing wigs and weavons only or even hating her hair. Like I mentioned in my first blog post,I used to hate my hair and even envy my sisters who had medium textured hair. My hair story has changed although I do not have long hair I have come to love and care for my hair 🙂  .Yes girlfriends you heard me right I now love my hair.My hair has evolved overtime from that feathery looking dry/coarse hair to a medium textured healthy looking hair.I know you are whispering within you ” Lamide,stop beating about the bush tell us what you did.” Yes calm down I will let it out.It would bring me great joy to see all black woman love and care for their hair.We’ve been told our hair is horrible and should not be exposed that is why most women waste thousands of naira on” Oyinbo” Hair.Whether your hair is relaxed or natural you can have that healthy hair you have always dreamt of.

Before I let out  the tips that helped me.I would like to talk about the Basic African hair types

There are basically 3 types of African Hair:
Fine,Medium,Coarse Hair types.The latter is more densely curled and very dry.Due to this dry nature coupled with the sunny African climate,people with the coarse hair type suffer from hair breakage and dullness.The average black woman has coarse/dry hair.If well managed and cared for the coarse hair type can evolve to the medium hair type.

Tip No. 1- Never leave your Hair Dry. Shea Butter and Water are essential moisturizers for the African woman.Comb your hair with large tooth plastic combs,dampen your hands sparingly with water and rub your wet hands on your hair then seal up moisture with natural oils like Olive Oil or Coconut Oil.I particularly like to seal up with shea butter because it has the right balance of oil and moisture.

Tip No 2- If you like straight hair use only only no-lye relaxers because they are mild on the scalp and please minimize retouches to 4-5 times annually

Tip No 3-Feed your scalp :like you, your hair needs food to grow.I recommend a scalp treatment like Emily millionaire coconut oil.

Tip No 4-Avoid combing hair while conditioning after shampooing or retouching ie when wet.The hair is at its weakest point when wet.You can pat and rub lightly with your palms instead of combing wet hair.

Lest ,I forget your hair also needs deep conditioning.Especially after a retouch.Its ok to revitalize your hair every 1 or 2 months.Egg yolk mixed with any natural oil you have at your disposal will do the magic.

If you follow these simple tips I am sure your hair will blossom.Patience is needed too o.In at least 3 months you will see changes
.Do remember to share these tip with a friend.Your question and comments will be deeply appreciated.

Yours Truly,

Olamide

Photo Credit: womennbeauty.com

One thought on “Beauty ” With or Without” 1 (African Hair Care Tips)

  1. […] Beauty ” With or Without” 1 (African Hair Care Tips). […]

Leave a comment